Ohio Walleye Federation-Mosquito Lake Tournament Sunday 4/12/215

The Ohio Walleye Federation held its first tournament of 2015 on Mosquito Lake on April 12th.  After one of the worst winters in recent memory and even worse than last years. The anglers were greeted with weather on tournament day that was fantastic creating a beautiful day on the water. With the sun high in the sky many of the anglers took advantage of the High Pressure and brought in limits of fish. Anglers reported doing a variety of angling techniques throughout the day to catch their fish. Some started out jigging both in deep water as well as shallow rock bars. Most of the teams that did well fished on the north side of the causeway in the 8-12 FOW trolling either leadcore or mono and using a variety of crankbaits using anything from Shad Raps, to Reefrunners, Salamo Hornets, and Flicker Shads, color didn’t seem to matter and speed was from 1.8 – 2.2 mph. The team of Jeff Metzger and James Dean took top honors bringing in a 5 fish limit of 14.26lbs. The team of Metzger and Dean spent the day on the north side trolling leadcore and mono pulling a variety of crankbaits. Finishing 2nd was the team of Brian Davies and Paul Kerr who also fished the north end of the lake trolling leadcore and mono, they had a total weight of 13.38lbs. The team of Davies and Kerr also took big fish honors bringing in a fish that weighed 5.96lbs. Our 3rd place team was Bret Berkey and Nate Arnold who did a variety of things throughout the day started out trolling on the north side pulled their 5 fish limit and went vertical jigging vibes in a couple of their key deep water spots where they were able to upgrade some of their fish from the morning troll.  Berkey and Arnold finished with a weight of 12.82lbs. The 4th place team of Amanda Yackmack and Joe Yackmack also trolled the north end of the lake in the afternoon and brought in a basket that weighed 12.08lbs. Our 5th place team of Jon Siembor and Keith Whitlatch also trolled the north end and brought in a weight of 12.04lbs.

View Full Results

There were a total of 33 teams in the field.

Payouts were:
1st -$2000 Jeff Metzger and James Dean
2nd-$1000 Brian Davies and Paul Kerr
3rd -$750 Bret Berkey and Nate Arnold
4th -$550 Amanda Yackmack and Joe Yackmack
5th -$400 Jon Simbor and Keith Whitlatch
Big Fish $200 Brian Davies and Paul Kerr
2nd Big Fish $50 gift card Amanda Yackmack, and Joe Yackmack
$150 contingency bonus drawn randomly for any team not finishing in money. One team member must be present.
$50+ crank bait assortment bonus drawn randomly for any team not finishing in money. One team member must be present.

Raffle prizes included:
Big Ticket item-One (1) Free OWF Entry Fee-$150 value to be applied to any one of our tournaments
$25 gift certificate-Rodmaker’s Shoppe
Church’s Planer Boards
Reef Runner box
Mepp’s box
Redneck weights
Fish USA T Shirts
Fin, Feather and Fur hat

Special Thanks to all our sponsors:
Ravenna Marine-OWF’s ILC Title Sponsor
Vic’s Marine-OWF’s CBC Title Sponsor
Haine’s Marine
Worlwide Insurance
Les’s Bait
Reef Runner
Fin Feather & Fur
Fish USA
Church’s Tackle
Canyon Cooler
Bay Rat Lures
Redneck Outfitters
These sponsors make our tournaments possible!!!!