Ohio Walleye Federation Tournament Results For Mosquito Lake, April 7th 2013

TWFlogo_250Forty teams competed on Mosquito Lake in the first Ohio Walleye Federation tournament of 2013 sponsored by Ravenna Marine. The already tough transition post spawn bite was made even more challenging with strong 20mph-30mph winds and high waves. Jim Gwynn & Matthew Whitacre overcame the tough bite and even tougher weather conditions to bring an impressive 5 fish limit of 15.42lbs to earn 1st place and the $2500 first place prize. Gwynn and Whitacre were trolling stick baits along the main river channel on the south end of the lake. The majority of the top teams also caught their fish trolling using a combination of stick baits and shad imitation baits on leadcore line targeting 13′-20′ of water. Trolling speeds ranged from 1.5mph-2.2mph. Other teams caught limits of fish jigging with jig/minnow combinations in 2-6ft of water. Big fish went to the team of Duffus and Hahner with a 4.08lb walleye vertically jigging blade baits in deep water.

The next OWF tournament will be on Berlin Lake May 5th with a guaranteed 1st place payout of $2500. More information can be found at www.fishowf.com

Mosquito Qualifier 1
Place Team # Fish Weight
1 Jim Gwynn & Matthew Whitacre 5 15.42
2 Clayton Allshouse & Vincent Chellino 5 14.88
3 Bill Christopher & Myles Pryce 5 13.48
4 Marion Erb & Robert Burkholder 5 13.3
5 Mitch Shipman & Chris Shipman 5 10.34
6 Mike Landsberger 5 10.14
7 Anthony Naples & Chris Durkin 5 10.02
8 Brandon Morrison & Chris Romano 4 9.86
9 Jon Siembor & Keith Whitlatch 5 9.8
10 Steve Baylor & Steve Booher 5 9.64